BMW Team RLL Racing To Clinch The Michelin Endurance Cup At The Twelve Hours of Sebring.
November 11, 2020
BMW Team RLL Wins GTLM Michelin Endurance Cup and secures second place in GTLM Manufacturer Championship with third and fourth Place finishes at The Twelve Hours of Sebring
November 15, 2020

Woodcliff Lake, N.J. – November 13, 2020 . . . BMW Team RLL qualified a strong second and third for tomorrow’s Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring presented by Advance Auto Parts, the final race of the 2020 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season. With a lap of 1:56116-minutes around the 3.74-mile, 17-turn Sebring International Raceway, Connor De Phillippi qualified the No. 25 MOTUL BMW M8 GTE on the outside of the GTLM class front row. De Phillippi will co-drive with Bruno Spengler and Colton Herta. Jesse Krohn qualified the No. 24 MOTUL BMW M8 GTE in the third starting position with a lap time of 1:56.316-minutes. He will co-drive with John Edwards and Augusto Farfus. The BMWs qualified within .660 and .860 seconds respectively of the polesitting Corvette C8.R.
With the GTLM class title decided in the last round, BMW has its focus set on a strong runner-up finish in the championship standings as well as winning the Michelin Endurance Cup title. Regardless of the ultimate outcome, the third season of IMSA competition for the BMW M8 GTE has been an outstanding one with a total of nine podium finishes, including victories at the Rolex 24 At Daytona and the six-hour Grand Prix at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta.
Robby Foley qualified the No. 96 Turner Motorsport BMW M6 GT3 in the seventh GTD class starting position with a 2:02.210-minute lap – 1.366-seconds behind the polesitting Porsche 911 GT3 R. With Bill Auberlen scratched from the line-up due to a possible Covid-19 exposure, Nick Yelloly will co-drive with Foley, joined by the usual Turner third driver, Dillon Machavern.
The 12 Hours of Sebring is scheduled to take the green flag at 10:10 a.m. EST tomorrow and will be broadcast live flag-to-flag on NBC’s Trackpass, a subscription streaming service. The race can be viewed on television from 10:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. on NBCSN, from 3:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. on NBC, and from 6:00 p.m. – 10:30 p.m. on NBCSN. Follow us on Twitter @BMWUSARacing for news from the pit box and get live scoring and in-car camera views at
Connor De Phillippi, driver No. 25 BMW M8 GTE (P2): “P2 is certainly a good place to start the 12 Hour. We have focused primarily on race pace this week and hopefully all our efforts will translate into the result we want – the win.”
Jesse Krohn, driver No. 24 BMW M8 GTE (P3): “We can be satisfied with today’s qualifying effort, but the results show we are still lacking a bit of pace to the Corvette. To echo what Connor said we have also focused on our race pace and it is nice to see we could run towards the front of the grid in today’s qualifying session.”
BMW Group In America
BMW of North America, LLC has been present in the United States since 1975.  Rolls-Royce Motor Cars NA, LLC began distributing vehicles in 2003.  The BMW Group in the United States has grown to include marketing, sales, and financial service organizations for the BMW brand of motor vehicles, including motorcycles, the MINI brand, and Rolls-Royce Motor Cars; Designworks, a strategic design consultancy based in California; technology offices in Silicon Valley and Chicago, and various other operations throughout the country.  BMW Manufacturing Co., LLC in South Carolina is the BMW Group global center of competence for BMW X models and manufactures the X3, X4, X5, X6 and X7 Sports Activity Vehicles. The BMW Group sales organization is represented in the U.S. through networks of 349 BMW passenger car and BMW Sports Activity Vehicle centers, 145 BMW motorcycle retailers, 117 MINI passenger car dealers, and 38 Rolls-Royce Motor Car dealers.  BMW (US) Holding Corp., the BMW Group’s sales headquarters for North America, is located in Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey.
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
BMW’s partner, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, based in Hilliard, Ohio and co-owned by three-time IndyCar Champion and 1986 Indianapolis 500 winner Bobby Rahal, former CBS Late Show host David Letterman and Mi-Jack co-owner Mike Lanigan, has been competing for almost three decades. Prior to the start of their 29th season of competition in 2020, the team had compiled 51 victories, 62 poles, 189 podium finishes, three series championships (1992, 2010, 2011) and claimed an Indianapolis 500 victory (Buddy Rice in 2004). In 2009 the team joined BMW of North America to campaign the new BMW M3 in the American Le Mans Series. The following year the team won both the Manufacturer and Team Championships in the GT category and swept all three GT titles – Manufacturer, Team and Driver – in 2011. In 2012, the team finished second in the Team Championship and third in the Manufacturer Championship and in 2013, the team finished second in the Driver, Team and Manufacturer Championship. Since 2014, BMW Team RLL has competed in the GTLM class of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship with a two-car program and has brought their total to 21 wins – including the 2019 and 2020 Rolex 24 At Daytona endurance races, 28 poles and 79 podium finishes as well as a second place finish in the Manufacturer, Team and Driver championships in 2015 and 2017.